The Witte Dame, an iconic building in Eindhoven, originally built between 1928 and 1931 by Philips, has served various functions over the years and has become a remarkable symbol.
Originally, the building was dedicated to the production of radio tubes and lamps. When it opened in 1931, it lacked the characteristic white color that defines it today; it was only added in 1953.
The Witte Dame is part of the Emmasingel complex, together with the first light bulb factory (now the Philips Museum) and the Light Tower. These buildings were designated by Philips with the letters EE, EF and EH.
In 1980, Philips left the Witte Dame because of the relocation of production to other countries. Today, the ground floor houses various shops and restaurants, while the upper floors house educational institutions, including the Eindhoven library and the GGD. A visit to the Witte Dame offers a fascinating insight into the history of innovation and design in Eindhoven.
Would you like to know more about the history of Philips? Then book our Philips Heritage tour.